Tag: Fiction

The Readerly Report – Episode 13 – Chatting with Audiobook Narrator Karen White, plus Our Favorite Listens

The Readerly Report – Episode 13 – Chatting with Audiobook Narrator Karen White, plus Our Favorite Listens

Subscribe: iTunes | Android | Email | RSS | The Readerly Report – All Episodes Doesn’t summer feel like the season to listen to audiobooks? Just in time for the first day of summer and the longest day of the year, Gayle and Nicole chat […]

The Readerly Report – Episode 9 – The Hot Summer Books Are Starting To Roll In

The Readerly Report – Episode 9 – The Hot Summer Books Are Starting To Roll In

Gayle and Nicole discuss their conception and notion of summer books and what constitutes summer reading. They also discuss some upcoming books that they are looking forward to reading in May. Some books discussed in this podcast. Saints for Occasions by J. Courtney Sullivan Into the Water […]

The Readerly Report – Episode 8 – The Most Disturbing Books We’ve Ever Read

The Readerly Report – Episode 8 – The Most Disturbing Books We’ve Ever Read

After debating the types of books that get under their skin, Gayle and Nicole discuss the most disturbing books they have ever read. But before they delve into the topic at hand, Gayle relates her Andrew McCarthy sighting. Afterward, they discuss a few upcoming books […]

New Arrivals: <i><b>All The Books</i> We’re Reading in March 2017

New Arrivals: All The Books We’re Reading in March 2017

From memoirs to fiction we’ve compiled all the new books we’ve put on our shopping list this month—March 2017. Stay tuned here and on our podcast for what we thought about these books!  Waking Lions by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen (Little, Brown and Company) Neurosurgeon Eitan Green has […]

New Arrivals: <i><b>All The Books</i></b> We Can’t Wait To Read This Week

New Arrivals: All The Books We Can’t Wait To Read This Week

  Dead Letters by Caite Dolan-Leach (Random House) A missing woman leads her twin sister on a twisted scavenger hunt in this clever debut novel of suspense for readers of Luckiest Girl Alive and Reconstructing Amelia. Featuring a colorful, raucous cast of characters, Caite Dolan-Leach’s debut […]

Readerly Top Picks in Paperback – February 2017

Many of wonderful titles we’ve loved and recommended are now out in paperback. Enjoy! Beside Myself by Ann Morgan (Bloomsbury USA) When Ellie assumes the role of her identical twin, and better-loved sister, Helen, the real Helen is left to muddle through a life with fewer prospects and […]

<b><i>The Readerly Report</b></i> – Episode 5 – Reading Vows & Resolutions

The Readerly Report – Episode 5 – Reading Vows & Resolutions

Gayle and Nicole discuss their reading resolutions, psychological thrillers as the equivalents of one night stands, and the books they are most looking forward to reading in the first few months of 2017. Books mentioned and discussed include: A Simple Favor by Darcy Bell The […]

Playlist: <b><i>A Brief History of Seven Killings</b></i> by Marlon James

Playlist: A Brief History of Seven Killings by Marlon James

Here we feature an imagined music playlist inspired by a character from a work of fiction. Each month, a different work will be chosen based on topicality, commemorative celebration or whim, and will serve as the inspiration for our sonic excursion. I’ve decided to feature […]

The Readerly Report – Episode 4 – Looking Back: Examining The Best Book Lists of 2016

The Readerly Report – Episode 4 – Looking Back: Examining The Best Book Lists of 2016

The end of the year is always an exciting time because we get all the year-end best-of reading lists. We compiled a number of those lists to find out which books were the most talked about in 2016. On the positive side, we noticed a depth […]

Playlist: <b><i>Jack Of Spades</b></i> by Joyce Carol Oates

Playlist: Jack Of Spades by Joyce Carol Oates

Here we feature an imagined music playlist inspired by a character from a work of fiction. Different works are chosen based on topicality, commemorative celebration or whim, and will serve as the inspiration for our sonic excursion. I’m diving into the world of  Jack of […]

The Readerly Report – Episode 3 – Finishing Up With Fall & A Few Fall Reads You’re Going to Love

The Readerly Report – Episode 3 – Finishing Up With Fall & A Few Fall Reads You’re Going to Love

Today, we’re diving into the books Gayle took on vacation, and finding out which ones are worthy reads. We also discuss what’s next on our lists and share three fall books we hope you’re considering. Thanks for tuning in. Books mentioned and/or discussed in this […]

“The Oprah Effect”: Oprah’s Book Club Turns Twenty!

“The Oprah Effect”: Oprah’s Book Club Turns Twenty!

Embed from Getty Images   It’s hard to believe, but Oprah’s Book Club turns twenty this month. In 1996, the club launched with Oprah’s selection of The Deep End of the Ocean; the announcement and subsequent book discussion skyrocketed sales of the book nearly tenfold. […]

The Books We Want To Read Right Now

The Books We Want To Read Right Now

It’s hard to believe it’s already September, but here we are: it’s back to school time, autumn, fall, pumpkin spice season, or whatever moniker you choose to attach to these pre-winter months. Luckily for us readers, this season is notorious for bringing with it a […]

The Readerly Report: Episode 2 – Gayle’s Vacation Reads and Two Overlooked Books of 2016

The Readerly Report: Episode 2 – Gayle’s Vacation Reads and Two Overlooked Books of 2016

Today, we’re catching you up on what we’ve been reading, some of  the books Gayle is planning on taking for her vacation and two books we feel have been overlooked in the past few months. Thanks for tuning in. Books mentioned and/or discussed in this podcast: […]

The Readerly Report: Episode #1 – Investigating the Hot Books of the Summer

The Readerly Report: Episode #1 – Investigating the Hot Books of the Summer

Today, we’re catching you up on what we’ve been reading and discussing some of  the hot books of the summer. Thanks for tuning in. Books discussed in this podcast: Hardcovers: All Is Not Forgotten by Wendy Walker Homegoing by Yaa Gyaasi Invincible Summer by Alice […]

Readerly Chats With Summer’s Reigning Queen, Mary Kay Andrews

Readerly Chats With Summer’s Reigning Queen, Mary Kay Andrews

Mary Kay Andrews is a New York Times bestselling author of women’s fiction. The Weekenders her 24th novel. A newspaper journalist for 14 years, she spent the last ten years as a features writer for The Atlanta Journal-Constitution. She describes her books as romantic comedies, […]

Readerly Top Picks Paperbacks – May 2016

Readerly Top Picks Paperbacks – May 2016

Girl Waits with Gun by Amy Stewart (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt) Stewart’s novel tells the story of the Kopp Sisters and the one moment that changes the course of their lives. A collision between the sister’s wagon and a dangerous silk factory owner’s automobile sets in motion […]

The Season of the Bride: 6 Books to Read When You’re Up To Your Neck In Weddings

The Season of the Bride: 6 Books to Read When You’re Up To Your Neck In Weddings

With spring comes the official start of wedding season; I’m writing this as I wait for a flight home from my first of six (yes, six!) weddings in as many months. With more engagement parties, showers, bachelorette parties, rehearsal dinners, ceremonies, and receptions coming up […]

Playlist: Open City by Teju Cole

Playlist: Open City by Teju Cole

Here we feature an imagined music playlist inspired by a character from a work of fiction. Each month, a different work will be chosen based on topicality, commemorative celebration or whim, and will serve as the inspiration for our sonic excursion. This month, I’m featuring […]

Readerly Top Picks Paperbacks – April 2016

Readerly Top Picks Paperbacks – April 2016

French Coast by Anita Hughes (St. Martin’s Griffin) French Coast is yet another charming romance from Anita Hughes. It features the Cannes Film Festival, Vogue, fabulous designer clothes and, of course, love. Hughes, as always, does a masterful job of weaving a story that grabs […]