Category: Books, Music & Movies

New Arrivals: <i><b>All The Books</i> We’re Reading in March 2017

New Arrivals: All The Books We’re Reading in March 2017

From memoirs to fiction we’ve compiled all the new books we’ve put on our shopping list this month—March 2017. Stay tuned here and on our podcast for what we thought about these books!  Waking Lions by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen (Little, Brown and Company) Neurosurgeon Eitan Green has […]

New Arrivals: <i><b>All The Books</i></b> We Can’t Wait To Read This Week

New Arrivals: All The Books We Can’t Wait To Read This Week

  Dead Letters by Caite Dolan-Leach (Random House) A missing woman leads her twin sister on a twisted scavenger hunt in this clever debut novel of suspense for readers of Luckiest Girl Alive and Reconstructing Amelia. Featuring a colorful, raucous cast of characters, Caite Dolan-Leach’s debut […]

Readerly Top Picks in Paperback – February 2017

Many of wonderful titles we’ve loved and recommended are now out in paperback. Enjoy! Beside Myself by Ann Morgan (Bloomsbury USA) When Ellie assumes the role of her identical twin, and better-loved sister, Helen, the real Helen is left to muddle through a life with fewer prospects and […]

Playlist: <b><i>A Brief History of Seven Killings</b></i> by Marlon James

Playlist: A Brief History of Seven Killings by Marlon James

Here we feature an imagined music playlist inspired by a character from a work of fiction. Each month, a different work will be chosen based on topicality, commemorative celebration or whim, and will serve as the inspiration for our sonic excursion. I’ve decided to feature […]

Playlist: <b><i>Jack Of Spades</b></i> by Joyce Carol Oates

Playlist: Jack Of Spades by Joyce Carol Oates

Here we feature an imagined music playlist inspired by a character from a work of fiction. Different works are chosen based on topicality, commemorative celebration or whim, and will serve as the inspiration for our sonic excursion. I’m diving into the world of  Jack of […]

World Series Coming, Make Sure You’re Prepared! Readerly’s Quick Baseball Primer

World Series Coming, Make Sure You’re Prepared! Readerly’s Quick Baseball Primer

Whether you’re rooting your team on to the World Series or discovering the sport for the first time, now is the perfect time to pick up a book on baseball! If you are brand new to the sport, you may want to consider dipping your […]

“The Oprah Effect”: Oprah’s Book Club Turns Twenty!

“The Oprah Effect”: Oprah’s Book Club Turns Twenty!

Embed from Getty Images   It’s hard to believe, but Oprah’s Book Club turns twenty this month. In 1996, the club launched with Oprah’s selection of The Deep End of the Ocean; the announcement and subsequent book discussion skyrocketed sales of the book nearly tenfold. […]

The Books We Want To Read Right Now

The Books We Want To Read Right Now

It’s hard to believe it’s already September, but here we are: it’s back to school time, autumn, fall, pumpkin spice season, or whatever moniker you choose to attach to these pre-winter months. Luckily for us readers, this season is notorious for bringing with it a […]

5 New Paperbacks to Start the Summer off Right

5 New Paperbacks to Start the Summer off Right

Many of wonderful titles we’ve loved and recommended are now out in paperback. Enjoy! A Head Full of Ghosts by Paul Tremblay (William Morrow) When fifteen-year-old Marjorie begins to act strangely, blaming voices to explain her erratic behavior, her family abandons the ever-growing therapy bills and instead […]

Readerly Top Picks Paperbacks – May 2016

Readerly Top Picks Paperbacks – May 2016

Girl Waits with Gun by Amy Stewart (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt) Stewart’s novel tells the story of the Kopp Sisters and the one moment that changes the course of their lives. A collision between the sister’s wagon and a dangerous silk factory owner’s automobile sets in motion […]

In Character: Emma Straub’s <b><i>Modern Lovers</b></i>

In Character: Emma Straub’s Modern Lovers

She loved bodies and beauty, but just because she thought Brad Pitt had a lovely face, that didn’t mean she wanted to sit on it. —Modern Lovers, Emma Straub

The Season of the Bride: 6 Books to Read When You’re Up To Your Neck In Weddings

The Season of the Bride: 6 Books to Read When You’re Up To Your Neck In Weddings

With spring comes the official start of wedding season; I’m writing this as I wait for a flight home from my first of six (yes, six!) weddings in as many months. With more engagement parties, showers, bachelorette parties, rehearsal dinners, ceremonies, and receptions coming up […]

Playlist: Inherent Vice by Thomas  Pynchon

Playlist: Inherent Vice by Thomas Pynchon

Here we feature an imagined music playlist inspired by a character from a work of fiction. Each month, a different work will be chosen based on topicality, commemorative celebration or whim, and will serve as the inspiration for our sonic excursion. This month, I’ve decided […]

Playlist: Open City by Teju Cole

Playlist: Open City by Teju Cole

Here we feature an imagined music playlist inspired by a character from a work of fiction. Each month, a different work will be chosen based on topicality, commemorative celebration or whim, and will serve as the inspiration for our sonic excursion. This month, I’m featuring […]

Readerly Top Picks Paperbacks – April 2016

Readerly Top Picks Paperbacks – April 2016

French Coast by Anita Hughes (St. Martin’s Griffin) French Coast is yet another charming romance from Anita Hughes. It features the Cannes Film Festival, Vogue, fabulous designer clothes and, of course, love. Hughes, as always, does a masterful job of weaving a story that grabs […]

Dead Wake by Erik Larsen

Dead Wake by Erik Larsen

Dead Wake: The Last Crossing of the Lusitania by Erik Larson (Broadway Books) One of the most shocking events that turned American sentiments regarding what would be later be called World War I was the sinking of the British passenger ship Lusitania on May 7, 1915, by […]

Books in The Wild – March 16, 2016

Books in The Wild – March 16, 2016

If you’re anything like us, you perk up a little when you see someone reading in public. We do a double take, and sometimes we even backtrack to see what book has caught someone else’s attention. There’s nothing like the  satisfaction of seeing  another reader’s […]

Room Is Now Available For The Small Screen And Its Not To Be Missed

Room Is Now Available For The Small Screen And Its Not To Be Missed

When it was announced that Emma Donoghue’s best-selling 2010 novel Room would be adapted into a film by A24 Films and DirecTV, many literature lovers were skeptical about how it would work out. How could such a powerful story — based on an even more […]

Books in the Wild—March 9, 2016

Books in the Wild—March 9, 2016

If you’re anything like us, you perk up a little when you see someone reading in public. We do a double take, and sometimes we even backtrack to see what book has caught someone else’s attention. There’s nothing like the  satisfaction of seeing  another reader’s […]

6 Great Books You Should Start Reading Now

6 Great Books You Should Start Reading Now

Green Island by Shawna Yang Ryan (Knopf) Green Island is a moving, multi-generational novel encompassing several deeply absorbing narratives. Whether illumining the little-known history of the 2/28 massacre, or Taiwan’s fight for independence and autonomy from Japan and China, Ryan deftly reveals the devastation and paranoia that ran […]