Byline: Nicole Bonia

Tipples and Lit: The Gold Rush

Tipples and Lit: The Gold Rush

    The Gold Rush cocktail is a  variant of the whiskey sour, and one of our preferred cocktails for imbibing and reading. Its creation is credited to T. J. Siegal. Siegal is believed to have perfected the Gold Rush while working as a bartender […]

New Arrivals: <i><b>All The Books</i> We’re Reading in March 2017

New Arrivals: All The Books We’re Reading in March 2017

From memoirs to fiction we’ve compiled all the new books we’ve put on our shopping list this month—March 2017. Stay tuned here and on our podcast for what we thought about these books!  Waking Lions by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen (Little, Brown and Company) Neurosurgeon Eitan Green has […]

New Arrivals: <i><b>All The Books</i></b> We Can’t Wait To Read This Week

New Arrivals: All The Books We Can’t Wait To Read This Week

  Dead Letters by Caite Dolan-Leach (Random House) A missing woman leads her twin sister on a twisted scavenger hunt in this clever debut novel of suspense for readers of Luckiest Girl Alive and Reconstructing Amelia. Featuring a colorful, raucous cast of characters, Caite Dolan-Leach’s debut […]

Readerly Top Picks in Paperback – February 2017

Many of wonderful titles we’ve loved and recommended are now out in paperback. Enjoy! Beside Myself by Ann Morgan (Bloomsbury USA) When Ellie assumes the role of her identical twin, and better-loved sister, Helen, the real Helen is left to muddle through a life with fewer prospects and […]

The Readerly Report – Episode 3 – Finishing Up With Fall & A Few Fall Reads You’re Going to Love

The Readerly Report – Episode 3 – Finishing Up With Fall & A Few Fall Reads You’re Going to Love

Today, we’re diving into the books Gayle took on vacation, and finding out which ones are worthy reads. We also discuss what’s next on our lists and share three fall books we hope you’re considering. Thanks for tuning in. Books mentioned and/or discussed in this […]

Readerly Chats With Summer’s Reigning Queen, Mary Kay Andrews

Readerly Chats With Summer’s Reigning Queen, Mary Kay Andrews

Mary Kay Andrews is a New York Times bestselling author of women’s fiction. The Weekenders her 24th novel. A newspaper journalist for 14 years, she spent the last ten years as a features writer for The Atlanta Journal-Constitution. She describes her books as romantic comedies, […]

5 New Paperbacks to Start the Summer off Right

5 New Paperbacks to Start the Summer off Right

Many of wonderful titles we’ve loved and recommended are now out in paperback. Enjoy! A Head Full of Ghosts by Paul Tremblay (William Morrow) When fifteen-year-old Marjorie begins to act strangely, blaming voices to explain her erratic behavior, her family abandons the ever-growing therapy bills and instead […]

Books in The Wild – March 16, 2016

Books in The Wild – March 16, 2016

If you’re anything like us, you perk up a little when you see someone reading in public. We do a double take, and sometimes we even backtrack to see what book has caught someone else’s attention. There’s nothing like the  satisfaction of seeing  another reader’s […]

Books in the Wild—March 9, 2016

Books in the Wild—March 9, 2016

If you’re anything like us, you perk up a little when you see someone reading in public. We do a double take, and sometimes we even backtrack to see what book has caught someone else’s attention. There’s nothing like the  satisfaction of seeing  another reader’s […]

IF I WERE A BOY: 3 Books Examining Afghanistan’s Bacha Posh

IF I WERE A BOY: 3 Books Examining Afghanistan’s Bacha Posh

  One of the great joys of reading is the pleasure of constantly learning and experiencing new people, concepts and cultures. You can combine the immediacy and comfort of your own couch with not only the wonders and curiosities of the world but also the […]